Income Tax In India: What Things You Need to Know

Income Tax In India

Income Tax in India

You must pay income tax, a sort of direct tax, to the Indian government if you make money there. India is taxed under the Indian Income Tax Act of 1961. While NRIs only pay income tax on their foreign income, Indian residents pay income tax on their worldwide earnings (both in India and abroad). As a result, if you earn money, you must pay income tax.

Who is responsible for paying income tax?

The following individuals are responsible for paying income tax:

  • Individuals
  • Hindu Undivided Families (HUF)
  • Association of Persons
  • Companies
  • Firm

From the standpoint of income tax calculation, the term 'income' refers to all types of income

you generate in a year. Income is distributed to each relevant head of income under the income. Tax laws, which recognise five types of income. The following are the five categories into which revenue is divided:

Heads of revenue

1. Salary-based income

This is the most common and extensively used revenue source. If you work as a salaried employee, your pay falls under the category of income from salary.

2. Rental property revenue

The rental revenue obtained by renting out a home property is referred to as income from house property. In this context, a home property might be either residential or commercial.

3. Business or profession-related earnings

If you own a self-employed business or practice a profession, the income you generate from it is reported under the heading income from business or profession.

4. Gains on capital investments

Capital gains occur when you sell a capital asset for a profit. A capital asset is any property that the taxpayer owns (excluding inventory and accounts receivable). A capital gain occurs when a capital asset is sold for a higher price than when it was purchased.

The gain could be short or long term, depending on how long the capital asset was held until it was sold. Capital gains are included in your income and taxed differently depending on the type of gain and the asset used to make it.

A capital loss is incurred if the capital asset is sold for less than it was purchased for. This loss is applied to lower taxable income and, as a result, five ways to avoid IRS tax audits.

5. Other sources of income

Any other money you generate in a year that does not fit into one of the four categories above is categorized as 'income from other sources.' Interest on savings accounts or fixed deposits, dividends from stock investments, and gifts received are all common instances.

The overall income you earn in a fiscal year is divided into five categories. Following that, the total income is taxed at the current tax rates. The profit earned by businesses and corporations is taxed at a flat rate of 30%. Individuals, HUFs, BOIs, and AOPs are among the other taxpayers who pay a progressive rate of tax.

This means that if one's income rises, so does the rate of taxation. The tax rate varies depending on the degree of income, and the rates are presented in a tax slab that the government can adjust at any time

About Kushal Enugula

I’m a Digital marketing enthusiast with more than 6 years of experience in SEO. I’ve worked with various industries and helped them in achieving top ranking for their focused keywords. The proven results are through quality back-linking and on page factors.

View all posts by Kushal Enugula

Leave a Reply